Texas Vehicle Inspection Law Changes in 2025

It is important to note that annual emissions controls are still required in major metropolitan areas, including 17 provinces.

HOUSTON — Changes are coming for Texas drivers. In less than six months, drivers will no longer be required to undergo an annual auto safety inspection.

As of Jan. 1, 2025, noncommercial vehicles will no longer be required to undergo a vehicle safety inspection prior to registration, according to the Texas Department of Public Safety. However, all noncommercial vehicles in the state will be subject to a $7.50 replacement fee for the inspection program. This fee will be added to your total when you register your vehicle with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.

RELATED: What You Need to Know About Texas’ Now-Effective Data Privacy Law

According to DPS, new vehicles purchased in Texas that have not previously been registered in Texas or another state must pay a $16.75 replacement fee for the initial inspection, which covers two years.

As for commercial vehicles, they will still be required to pass a vehicle safety inspection in all provinces. Since they will be required to pay for that safety inspection, commercial vehicles will be exempt from the replacement cost of the inspection program.

RELATED: U.S. Supreme Court to Hear Challenge to Texas Pornography Restriction

This comes after lawmakers who supported the bill claimed the inspections were time-consuming and burdensome.

It is important to note that annual emissions controls are still required in major metropolitan areas, including 17 provinces.

  • Brazoria
  • Fort Bocht
  • Galveston
  • Haris
  • Montgomery
  • Collin
  • Dallas
  • Denton
  • Ellis
  • Janssen
  • Kaufman
  • Park
  • Brick wall
  • Tarrant
  • Travis
  • Williamson
  • Step
  • Bexar (from November 1, 2026)

KHOU 11 on social media: Facebook | X |Instagram |YouTube


Leave a Comment